1300 541 321

Our Club

FJ Edwards Clubrooms
Deakin Reserve
Harold Street Shepparton 3630

1300 541 321

Address all Correspondence to:
the Club Secretary PO Box 910, Shepparton 3632


Football was played locally in and around Shepparton from the early 1880s, it was not until the formation of Goulburn Valley District Football Association in 1894 that a coherent competitive framework for the sport emerged.

Shepparton was one of six founder members of the GVDFA. It won its first flag in 1899, followed by another four years later, and then from 1906 until the competition went into recess because of world war one it established a veritable premiership dynasty, going top no fewer than six times in nine seasons.

From 1911 until early in the 1913 season in particular, Shepparton was widely regarded, and indeed often described in the local press, as ‘invincible’. At the end of the 1913 season this evaluation was further enhanced when Shepparton beat South Bendigo by 3 points in a special challenge match for ‘the championship of the north’.

After world war one Shepparton continued to enjoy regular success, but they left the GVFL in 1939 because the league decided to change from a Wednesday competition to a Saturday. They joined the Central Goulburn Valley Football League and only returned to the GVFL in 1951.

In 1961 the club appointed Tom Hafey, a former back pocket player with Richmond, who preached a fast-paced, aggressive, highly team-orientated football. Hafey coached the club to a hattrick of flags before Richmond offered him the main coaching position in the VFL. Hafey made sure to sign the best young talent in the GVFL and in his second year got the Tigers a flag.

The Shepparton Football Netball Club still calls Deakin Reserve home and currently has four senior football teams and five senior netball teams entered in the GVFL.

We are a very proud club and welcome new players and members at every opportunity.



1899, 1903, 1906, 1908, 1909, 1911, 1912, 1913, 1920, 1925, 1929, 1934, 1951, 1957, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1968, 1969, 1972, 1973, 1978, 1993, 1994, 2000, 2018

VFL/AFL players

Steven King – Geelong, St Kilda

Shannon Byrnes – Geelong

David Code – Melbourne

Lachlan Ash – Greater Western Sydney

Stephen Tingay – Melbourne

Jarman Impey – Port Adelaide / Hawthorn

Anthony Stevens – Nth Melbourne

Anthony Mellington – Fitzroy / Nth Melbourne

John Ahern – Melbourne

Will Brodie – Gold Coast / Fremantle

Jordan Butts – Adelaide

Nathan Drummond – Richmond

Alex Keath – Adelaide / Western Bulldogs

Luke Lowden – Hawthorn

Dale Dickson – Melbourne /  Brisbane

Grace Egan – Carlton (AFLW)

2022 Executive Committee

Mark Washington

Co Vice President
Travis Hampshire

Ashley Hooper

Co Vice President
Leeanne Archer

Jason Sherlock

General Committee

Board/Committee Member: Marianne Conti

Board/Committee Member: Lisa Collins

Board/Committee Member: David Harcoan

Board/Committee Member: Will Phillips

Board/Committee Member: Joel Thompson




A Grade Netball Coach Tracey Brereton
B Grade Netball Coach Stacey Thompson
B Reserve Netball Coach Vacant Position
17 & Under Head Coach Jacinta Todd
17 & Under Assistant Coach Jon  Griffin 
15 & Under Head Coach Jacinta Todd
15 & Under Assistant Coach Jon Griffin 


Football Manager Greg Comer
Senior Football Coach Ted Lindon
Reserves Football Coach Paul Newman
Terrance Tuohey
U18 Football Coach Sean Reidy
Mark Metcalf